Grieving

December 11, 2011 at 9:56 am Leave a comment

If you read last week’s not-really-a-blog blog, you’ll know that I was spending the weekend in Brisbane to say what was likely to be a final farewell to my Uncle Joe.

He passed peacefully, with his family around him, yesterday.

It was the best that could be hoped for him. He was not in any pain, and to continue living completely bedridden and reliant on others for everything just doesn’t do justice to the person he was.

I am pleased to say that despite his state, he did wake up a couple of times while I was there, he recognised me and was able to talk for a few minutes. He knew I was there and he was grateful.

I was grateful too. It wasn’t easy making the decision to go, not knowing whether he would make it that far, or whether to wait to attend a funeral.

But I am so glad I made the choice I did, and was able to spend a few more precious moments with him before he left us.

Grief is hard, there is no denying that, but it is also a reminder of how precious life is, and how important it is to live while you are here. Whether living for you means jumping out of planes, or spending an afternoon curled up with a book,  having big parties or just spending some quiet time with a few close friends, make time to do them.

Thank you to all of my friends and family who have shown their support over these past few weeks, it has made such a difference.

Right now I’m not okay, but I promise I will be.

I will be back next week with a very special story to share with you all.

xx Chrissie

 

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog, Gratitude. Tags: , , , .

No blog this weekend My Grandpa Joe

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


