Night writer

November 13, 2011 at 10:03 am 2 comments

Just like Knight Rider, only nerdy.

You can't hassle The Hoff

As you may know, I started a new job (if you don’t know and would like to, you can find out more here) just over a month ago. I like my new job – it’s a new challenge, I’m learning a lot and writing in a whole new style. It’s great!

However, one teeny tiny, miniscule downside is that I start work early. Like, 6am early. On the surface, this is not a bad thing – I work from home, so it’s not like I have a long commute to get there, and starting early also means finishing early, which gives me more time in the afternoons. Yay time!

The only one tiny, miniscule downside to that is that I am a night person. I would turn nocturnal if I could (and in fact, if my own writing career takes off I may indeed do just that).

These days I can manage to function decently well in the morning (as opposed to the zombie mornings of years past), but I hit my stride in the late afternoon/evening… just in time to get a few things done before bed.

Of course, this isn’t exactly new – the need to hold down a day job in order to do all those nice things like pay the mortgage and eat means I have had to operate in a morning person’s world for some time now.

However, now that I need to be in bed by about 9.30pm, I’m finding I really miss the days of staying up all night, scrawling away in my notebook, or lying awake in the dark writing whatever comes into my head (and then trying to decipher it the next day.

I have plenty of ideas still, they come at any time of day, but finding the inspiration seems harder during the day. There’s something about the peace and darkness at night that help to leave room for ideas to flow.

So my challenge now is to force myself to find time during the day, shut out distractions and write, even if I don’t feel like it.

Do any other writers have that issue? Anyone find ways to balance day job with writing without staying up all night?

xx Chrissie

ps – anyone who’s suffered from writer’s block (and even people who haven’t) should check out this hilarious cartoon on Peas & Cougars: Coming to a Writer’s Block. It’s good for a giggle =)

Image sourced from http://www.digital-polyphony.com/25knightrider.htm.

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

I’m a poet and I knew it! What is made from straw, has a carrot nose and is feared by large black birds?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rae  |  November 13, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Thanks for the link! And I feel you, I’m a night person too. Good luck with the new routine!

    Reply
    • 2. squeakychrissie  |  November 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm

      Hi Rae, thanks heaps for commenting 🙂 I saw your post on Freshly Squeezed and had to share it. I’ll be sharing how I go routine-wise as I work things out.

      Reply

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


