A novel idea

October 3, 2011 at 6:21 pm Leave a comment

OMG! OMG OMG OMG! Okay, everybody just stay calm, there’s no reason to go crazy… except that SHIRLEY HUGHES HAS WRITTEN A NOVEL! I know, OMG right?

Wait, you’re not sure who I’m talking about? Well maybe this picture will evoke some fond memories:

 

 

If you’re still not sure, Shirley Hughes is a children’s writer/illustrator. She started out as an illustrator before turning to writing stories as well (I’m totally not jealous that she can do both… even though she’s probably better at both of them than I am at just writing… nope, not at all. Well, maybe a little).

But after years of creating picture books (including Dogger, a childhood favourite of mine), she has written her first novel!

You can read about the novel, along with her views on why fantasy literature is so popular, in her interview with The Independent. (It’s a very well written article, with the one slight exception of “koala bear”, which made me break out into “Please don’t call me a koala bear, ’cause I’m not a bear at all” – please tell me I’m not the only one who remembers that song!)

I know it’s meant to be for children, but I will definitely be getting my hands on a copy of this when it’s released.

I think she’s a really interesting lady, and a wonderful writer and illustrator, so go and check out the article… then come back here and tell me what you think!

xo Chrissie

ps, I am so digging out my old copy of Dogger from my parents’ house next time I’m there. If I can’t find it, I may cry.

Picture found here.

Entry filed under: Blog, Inspiring Authors. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

A pinspiring message A play on words

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


