Happy Roald Dahl day!

September 13, 2011 at 9:59 pm Leave a comment

A gift, from me to me!

Roald Dahl is probably my favourite author in the world. Even as an adult I love the worlds and characters he created, where the good characters are wonderful and the bad characters are truly hideous, inside and out.

Today is, indeed, Roald Dahl day, the day which would have been his 95th birthday.

This year Roald Dahl day celebrates the 50th anniversary of James and the Giant Peach – a book which, I am very ashamed to admit, I have never read.

Well, that will change shortly, seeing as last week I purchased the Roald Dahl Phiz-Whizzing collection, a pack with 15 of his books which includes James and the Giant Peach.

So happy 95th birthday to a true creative genius, a man whose way with words inspires both awe and envy in me. I raise my book to you, sir.

xo Chrissie

PS, What’s your favourite Roald Dahl book? Mine would have to be either Matilda, the lead character of which I strongly identified with (only because of her love of books, fortunately, my parents are actually lovely people) or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory for its vivid imagery, particularly in the Chocolate Room.

Check out the website dedicated to the great Mr Dahl here: http://www.roalddahl.com/

Entry filed under: Blog, Inspiring Authors. Tags: , , , , , .

Brian’s Tree From online to IRL, the benefits of real life networking

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


