Refocussing

August 16, 2011 at 9:30 pm 4 comments

Bliss

I started this blog with a vision to share my stories. Stories I was writing in my spare time, heading down to the beach with a notebook or curled up in bed, scribbling away madly as I do.

It was that simple. Just load up the stories that I was writing anyway, because they’re fun and I love to write, and let people read them if they want to.

And people have been reading, which has been a nice surprise. This is still a small blog (when talking to a whiz-bang internet magician friend about it, I proudly told him I had almost reached 1000 views. He responded “Per week? Per month?”. Nope – that was five months in! But I’m really proud to know that people out there in internet-land are reading, and hopefully enjoying, my blog.

Still, while my reads have been growing, I feel like I’ve lost focus a little. Running a blog is super exciting – you get to look at your stats to see what people are responding well to, wade through old blogs to tag them so they can be found through searches (I missed that step somewhere along the way!), plan for the future and think about designs and and and… oh wait, wasn’t I supposed to be doing something?

The writing. Yes, I have still been writing, but I feel like I’ve lost focus a bit. I have two three quite a lot of stories on the go at the moment, but I’m just not finding the energy or inspiration to get them done. And the stories – they’re what this blog is all about!

I used to write stories to get some release from the daily grind, to escape when I felt like my mind was just too full of stuff, only I’ve let this blog become more stuff to clog up my brain, to the point where I can’t write the stories for the blog… it’s become a vicious cycle!

Now before all my regular readers (anyone? hellooo? =p) and my two subscribers (both of whom are my fiance – hi honey!) start to worry, I don’t think a break is necessarily in order. Rather, I need to reprioritise and make myself make time to write – not just for this blog baby of mine, but for me.

Life can be crazy, so sometimes we need to be firm with ourselves when it comes to putting ourselves first. It’s not easy, but when I find my thoughts are racing so fast I can’t switch off then it’s time to do something about it.

So here is my pledge, to you and myself:

I will make time to write, even if it’s just a little, even if it’s not very good

I will finish a story, instead of just starting new ones

I will go through my old notebooks and start typing up all of those stories and ideas that were dreamed up and then lost between pages of scrawl

I will take time for me

Writing is such a great release for me when things seem to be getting too much. What do you do to escape?

xx Chrissie

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog. Tags: , , , , , .

Home is where the art is The Whoopsie Daisy – part one

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shaddowofadream  |  August 16, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with Chrissie!

    Reply
  • 3. jessicamjonas  |  August 16, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    I have similar feelings about my own baby-blog sometimes. It’s definitely a rush to see people reading right away (especially since my stories are still getting form rejections), but there’s always the danger that blogging will take away from fiction writing. What helps me is to keep track of how much “real” writing I’m doing, vs. blogging. If I notice myself slipping, I take a couple days to get back on track before I start posting again. Most of the time, though, having a blog makes me want to write more. After all, if it’s a writer’s blog, I need to be doing something worth posting about, right?

    Reply
    • 4. Christine Feary  |  August 17, 2011 at 9:36 am

      That’s so true. It sounds like you have a great system going, I’ll have to try that myself. I was just checking out your blog, I love the toaster girl story 🙂

      Reply

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


