Sending out an SOS

July 2, 2011 at 5:11 pm 3 comments

Well, another week and still no new story. I know what you’re thinking – “you’re supposed to be a writer, so write!” Well believe me, I am! Duckie’s grand adventure is progressing nicely and I will aim to have something new up (whether that or a shorter piece) up next weekend.

 

For now, though, I am asking for ideas from all of you! An opportunity has come up to write a blog for another website – I won’t say which yet, since this function won’t be launched for a little while yet.

 

But what I need to do is come up with a name! Considering it took me months (seriously) to come up with Squeaky Shoe Stories for this blog (read more about the background to that name here) I’m hoping some of my brilliant readers can help me.

 

This new blog will not have my stories themselves, but will be similar to my author’s blogs, dealing with things like reading, literacy, stories, children, book reviews or recommendations etc but targeted specifically towards grandparents.

 

I’m looking for a name that is somewhat indicative of what I do – something to do with stories or writing, that gives a bit of a warm, cosy feeling since I want it to be something fun, informative and interesting to read, rather than hard-hitting critique.

 

Some ideas that have been thrown at me so far are: Story corner, Storyteller’s corner, Story shelf, Fearytales (one I originally considered for here, but it was already taken on WordPress – go figure!), Cosy corner, or something to do with tales… all of these have merit, but none feel quite right.

 

So I’m throwing it over to you guys – what strokes of genius do you all have? Any and all ideas are welcome!

 

xx Chrissie

 

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog.

Happy 6-monthiversary! Emily the Adventurer and the Very Messy Wedding!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine Feary  |  July 3, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Hey Macrat, that’s a good suggestion, I love the clever play on words 🙂

    Groovy Glen, I do much the same. Sometimes though, I do hit a wall and have to wait for it to break down before I can continue. Sometimes it’s even something as simple as a single word that throws me, and until I can figure it out everything stops. Do you have your writings up anywhere on the internet? I’d love to read!

    Reply
  • 2. Macrat  |  July 2, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    I think you should call it “Read it on the wireless”, given that they used to hear it on the wireless being a radio, but wireless today is used for internet and they’ll be reading it… sheer BRILLIANCE if you ask me.. which technically you have

    Reply
  • 3. Glen [Groovy]  |  July 2, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    I don’t have an writer expertise per say but all I know is I just write what ever springs to my mind, I dont always get inspiration every single night but whenever I think of something I can tell its a winner because when I start to write it flows and doesnt really require effort, the words just begin to pour out onto the page like gooey brains from the skull of a zombie’s victim……mmm…….zombie feastings…..Anywho….add this to my bookmark of blogs

    Reply

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


