Happy 6-monthiversary!

June 24, 2011 at 11:00 am Leave a comment

Yep, this little blog of mine has been in existence for six months today! Time, she does fly.

I had been toying with the idea of a blog for a long time before I started this, I even had the name picked out, but there was always a reason not to – I didn’t have enough stories written, I didn’t know if I could dedicate the time in an already reasonably busy life, etc etc.

Finally, I decided I would prepare a few more stories and then start my blog at the beginning of 2011. I was still a bit uncertain, but I started working towards it. Then, on Christmas eve in 2010 I was up late after preparing the house for guests the next day.

I had reached that point of being up past bedtime where I was too awake to sleep but too tired to actually do much, so I was slumped in a semi-comatose state in front of my computer on the Offbeat Bride forum.

Then I came across a non-wedding related post by a recently married member, asking people for the address to their blogs so she could keep in touch with other members outside of OBB.

For some reason, when I saw that post, something clicked and I realised that there really is no time like the present. If I had waited for January 1, 2011, would I have been any more prepared than I was at December 24, 2010? Considering we had Christmas family gatherings and other such things going on, probably not.

So I went to WordPress, signed up, and posted my very first blog. Ever since then, I have taken the strategic approach of flying by the seat of my pants. It’s like that with writing, sometimes my head is so full of story ideas that I just can’t keep up, other times I am completely sapped of all inspiration.

I try to strike a good balance between stories and blog posts, although sometimes after the longer ones (like my recent three-part monster story about socks, of all things) I tend to do a couple of blogs to let my poor tired brain recover.

I’ll also admit that sometimes I do have to really push myself to get stories finished on time, which can be hard for a creative-minded person.

I often worry that it will affect the quality of my work, and to be honest it probably does, but firstly it is good for me to get more experience with channelling my creativity to meet deadlines and secondly, the beauty of the internet is that I can always go back and edit! (in fact, my dad pointed out just the other day that in my first story, Rainbow meets the Grumble Fairy, I spelled grateful incorrectly. It’s one of those annoying mistakes I always make, but usually pick myself up on – clearly this time I missed it. Now that I’ve told you all that, I should go and fix it.)

If you ever do notice mistakes in my stories, don’t be afraid to tell me – either comment or email me directly on squeakyshoestories@gmail.com. As a sub-editor by trade (yep, we make the same mistakes as anyone!) I know not to take corrections personally, and I really appreciate it when people take the time to give me feedback, whether it’s positive or constructive.

Moving forward, the next six months will most likely be more of the same – me busting my gut to try and bring you a new post every week (and sometimes failing – sorry about that chief!).

There are some other changes I’d like to make over time, things like a new website (ooh, shiny!), hard and digital copies of my stories (which will be properly edited – no greatful will make its way into print!), activities to accompany stories and other such fun things. I can’t wait!

Another exciting development that’s happening RIGHT NOW! (or a couple of weeks ago) is that we have passed 1000 views! In fact, right now I am sitting at more than 1100, which is almost 200 views per month, which is pretty super awesome considering how small this is at the moment. So, as well as squee-ing with excitement here, I also wanted to take the chance to say a very heartfelt thank you to all of my readers.

Writing children’s stories has been a passion of mine for a while, and it means so much to me to be able to share it with you all – and even have people come back for more!

So thank you, each and every one of you, for supporting me in this venture. To show my gratitude, here’s a link to one of my favourite songs that sums up how I feel right now: Thank You – The Whitlams (a warning to anyone sneakily reading this at work – it’s a YouTube clip, so you may not be able to watch it. It’s blocked at my work too, so I feel your pain.)

Read on!

Chrissie

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog, Gratitude.

You quack me up! Sending out an SOS

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


