What blogging means to me

February 13, 2011 at 9:45 am 1 comment

This is the author’s blog I was planning to write for last week, but work and sickness got in the way. Ironically, part of it is about how sticking to a regular blogging schedule is good.

When I first had the idea to start a blog for my children’s stories I held off for a long time – I probably spent about 6 months actively thinking “hey, I really want to do this” before I bit the bullet.

Why the hesitation? Well, life does get in the way sometimes, and I was worried that I would start this thing and then give up or forget to write regularly. I didn’t think I could do it and I was afraid to fail.

Then on Christmas Eve I was up late, surfing the internet, bored out of my mind, when I thought “this is it”. And that was it! I posted my first story and mentally committed myself to posting a blog a week, with an aim of alternating between stories and author’s blogs.

Maybe I’ll still be doing this a year down the track, or maybe I’ll run out of ideas/motivation next week (but I don’t think so). But it doesn’t matter, because right now I am sharing something I love with whoever is happy to read it.

So what am I gaining from getting over myself and giving this blogging thing a red hot go?

Confidence, for one. I have confidence that I can keep this up – yes, I took a week off last week, but that’s ok because I’m back at it now. It’s the old “get back on that horse” analogy, and it’s true.

It’s also inspiring me to make time to keep writing. Whether people read it or not (though I really hope you do!), my stories are a big part of who I am. I have all these ideas, so committing myself to make time to sit down and write them is really good. While it’s frustrating sometimes to get to a Sunday evening and realise I haven’t made time to write yet, and have to sit down and push through it, I’m learning to get myself prepared ahead of time, and that too is a very good thing for me.

Another benefit is keeping my mind active and creative while working a day job that is very focused on left-brain thinking. Brainwork feeds the mind, but creativity feeds the soul, and to disregard one of those is to cut yourself short from your true potential or something. (sorry, not good at being inspirational as myself, I’ll let my stories do that!)

But lastly, it is a chance to tell stories – real stories, for all that they are fictional. While some stories are more serious or deeper than others, I hope that all of them can allow children and adults to take a little something away – whether it’s a moral message about treating others kindly or a deeper understanding of how other people live their lives, I think it’s so important to expose ourselves to things beyond our own experiences in order to keep learning.

There’s nothing more fulfilling to me than managing to capture a real person on the page, even if it’s someone I’ve never met, and tell their story in a way that people can relate to.

I have only been doing this a short time, but I hope that people can look at my blog and decide to push past those mental barriers holding them back from doing something important to them. Believe me, I am not always confident about my stories, or putting my work out for people to judge. It is hard, but it’s also very worthwhile.

I would love to hear from any other bloggers about their inspiration and motivation!

Chrissie

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog, Gratitude. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The “not really a post” post A more serious note

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  February 13, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Hey Chrissie, loved your authors blog today, it reminded me of why I love to write too… you are so right, if you don’t do it for yourself, that little part of yourself fades away, until you are left wondering if there is anything left.
    I love your stories, keep up the good work.:)
    Kisses

    Reply

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


