The power of personalisation

January 3, 2011 at 5:40 pm Leave a comment

One thing I’ve noticed, from my own life and from observing others, is that having something of your own is so important to children.

Whether it’s a space in the house that is entirely theirs, a favourite toy or pair of shoes, or a book (or ten) that they really connect with.

One thing I really enjoy doing is writing stories for actual children – in fact, both of the stories I have posted so far have been written for specific children. One (Rainbow meets the Grumble Fairy)  was for the beautiful daughter of a lovely woman on a forum I am a part of, who loved stories about fairies and rainbows!

The other (Emily’s First Adventure) is part of a series I have started for my niece – 10 points if you guess her name!

When I talk about personalised stories I do not just mean “insert your name here” type stories, although they can be great fun as well when you find one that suits your child’s interests.

However what I am referring to is a story that takes into account not just a child’s name but their own interests and personality, one that will feel authentic to them.

These types of stories engage children on a different level, giving them something that really is just for them. While other children can read and enjoy these stories (and I certainly love to share them more widely) it’s something that as they grow up, they can continue to feel proud of, and makes for fond memories as an adult.

One thing I would love to do, as I get a bit more practice on here, is start writing more stories for specific children. It’s fun and gives me a chance to explore ways to really capture an indidvidual’s personality and interests, which is a great challenge for my writing skills.

Of course, I won’t really be able to do that properly until I have an illustrator on board and am able to do physical books rather than just a web-based blog – but more on that another day!

I would love to know your thoughts on personalised stories and what they mean to you or your children – and hey, you might feel like getting out pen and paper and making up a story for your own children! It can be a lot of fun 🙂

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Emily’s first adventure Of duck statues and squeaky shoes

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


