Greetings!

December 24, 2010 at 8:16 pm Leave a comment

Hi, and welcome to Squeaky Shoe Stories!

This is the place where I will publish my most treasured work – the stories I write for children. As well as stories I will be blogging for the benefit of some of my older readers about my writing, education and literacy and the reasons why I write the stories I do.

Ever since I can remember I have loved writing – I wrote and illustrated my first book at the age of four. It was pretty terrible – backwards letters, messy writing and “illustrations” that look nothing like the things I’m sure they were meant to.

My writing has improved quite dramatically since then, though sadly I can’t say the same for my artistic skills.

I have always enjoyed writing for children – there is a lot of freedom to have fun with language and situations, using fictional characters to explore real-life situations and dilemmas.

I try to incorporate lessons into my stories without becoming preachy – addressing things like kindness, honesty and understanding in a way that is hopefully still fun to read.

But I’ll let you be the judge of that!

Enjoy,

Chrissie

Entry filed under: Author's Notebook, Blog. Tags: , , , , , .

Rainbow meets the Grumble fairy

Share your thoughts!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other subscribers